Hookah Lounge

Posted on April 17, 2012 by

0


By: Christie Monturo

The windows were tinted black and I couldn’t see what was inside as we approached the door. My friend Jocelyn lives in Tempe and goes to this place all the time, or so she claims. We opened the door and were greeted with the vibrating bass coming from the DJ’s speakers. The air was filled with billowing smoke, and laser lights shot through the room in every direction. We were seated and I could feel the air conditioning falling on my shoulders.The waitress asked what we wanted to drink, and I ordered a bubbly orange soda. The carbon dioxide fizzed on my tongue as I chugged the drink. We ordered our hookah and when it arrived the heat from the burning coals felt comforting on my cold skin. The air smelled like fruity smoke, and the hookah tasted like pineapple and mango infused air. The smoke filled my lungs and I immediately felt a buzz. A cloud of smoke poured out of my mouth and our laughter echoed in the room. We both have distinct laughs and we both make each laugh constantly. That’s why she is one of my best friends. We can laugh over a simple conversation.

After about an hour we ordered some water because our throats were getting dry from laughing and smoking. The waitress brought us a glowing substance in a small container and half of a water bottle. She instructed us to blow the smoke through the water bottle, with the glow-in-the-dark soap on the other end. After a few tries we successfully created smoke filled bubbles. They slowly creep into the air and let out a cloud of smoke when popped. After we had spent almost two hours at Hubbly Bubbly Hookah lounge we decided to head home. The air outside felt dead and gloomy compared to the atmosphere we had just experienced. It was an interesting experience to say the least. I am unsure of why we don’t have any hookah bars in Flagstaff. 

Posted in: Blog #8